Spirit of the Ordeal Award

Spirit of the Ordeal

Spirit of the Ordeal

The Spirit of the Ordeal Award was created by the Kit-Ke-Hak-O-Kut Lodge #97 in 2010 to recognize the Lodge’s outstanding young – Scouts who are setting the example high above their peers building an enduring legacy to Scouting and the Order of the Arrow through cheerful service to others.

The award is intended to recognize only those extraordinary Arrowmen who have deeply influenced and significantly contributed to the vision, direction, and growth of the Order of the Arrow, faithfully demonstrated a lifetime of servant leadership, and, through their daily example, illuminated and reinforced the significance of the values found in the Scout Oath and Scout Law.

The prestige of the award requires the criteria be general in nature to allow members of the Lodge committee to exercise wisdom, flexibility, and discretion in the evaluation and selection of a worthy recipient. Although present member of the Order of the Arrow may be nominated, a nominee must meet the following criteria:

  • Under the age of 21.
  • Extremely active in the chapter he resides in.
  • Active in the Lodge

Nominations are made using the 2019 OA Award Nomination Form which must be received in the council office prior to September 30th of the year of the Winter Banquet. Nominations will be submitted to the OA Lodge Awards Committee.

Award Recipients

  • 2010 – Joe Hagerty
  • 2011 – Joseph Kamphaus
  • 2012 – Michael Cruse
  • 2013 – Paul Taylor
  • 2014 – Noah Sundberg
  • 2015 – Jordan Parker
  • 2016 – Kellen Kluch
  • 2017 – Noah Morocco
  • 2018 – Tyler Hartman
  • 2019 –  ??