The Higher Vision Award

Higher Vision AwardThe Higher Vision Award was created by the Kit-Ke-Hak-O-Kut Lodge #97 in 2009 to recognize the Lodge’s second and third generation “Founders” – Scouters who have built an enduring legacy to Scouting and the Order of the Arrow through a lifetime of cheerful service to others.

The award is intended to recognize only those extraordinary Arrowmen who have deeply influenced and significantly contributed to the vision, direction, and growth of the Order of the Arrow, faithfully demonstrated a lifetime of servant leadership, and, through their daily example, illuminated and reinforced the significance of the values found in the Scout Oath and Scout Law.

The prestige of the award requires the criteria be general in nature to allow members of the Lodge committee to exercise wisdom, flexibility, and discretion in the evaluation and selection of a worthy recipient. Although any past or present member of the Order of the Arrow may be nominated, a nominee must meet the following criteria:

  • Vigil Honor member;
  • Founders Award recipient;
  • Continued to render outstanding and dedicated service to the Order of the Arrow since receiving the Founders Award; and
  • Member of the Order of the Arrow for a minimum of 25 years.

Nominations are made using the 2019 OA Award Nomination Form which must be received in the council office prior to September 30th of the year of the Winter Banquet. Nominations will be submitted to the OA Lodge Awards Committee.

Higher Vision Award Recipients

  • 2009 – Jim Clarke
  • 2010 – Lloyd E. Roitstein
  • 2011 – Dale Bonge
  • 2012 – Vincent L. Cummings, Sr.
  • 2013 – Douglas N. Heller
  • 2014 – Vincent L Cummings Jr.
  • 2015 – Jim Taylor
  • 2016 – Jack Hendricks
  • 2017 – Wes Agar
  • 2018 – Tim Robertson
  • 2019 – ?