Kit-Ke-Hak-O-Kut Lodge #97 was chartered in 1965 in the Mid-America Council (#326) located in Omaha, Nebraska. The current totems of the lodge are the beaver, the cedar tree and the white buffalo.

Lodge Merger History

Kit-Ke-Hak-O-Kut Lodge was formed from the merger of Cha-Pa Lodge #97 and Pohawk Lodge #445. In 2001, Kit-Ke-Hak-O-Kut Lodge #97 absorbed Miniconjou Lodge #438. The Kit-Ke-Hak-O-Kut Lodge totem was a Beaver in front of a  Pine Tree.

Miniconjou Lodge #438 was chartered in 1973 in the Prairie Gold Area Council located in Sioux City, Iowa. In 1973, Miniconjou was formed from the merger of Wahpeton Lodge #438 and War Eagle Lodge #474. The Miniconjou Lodge totem was a White Buffalo.

Wahpeton Lodge #438 was chartered in 1950 in the Prairie Gold Area Council located in Fort Dodge, Iowa. The Wahpeton Lodge totem was a Willow Tree.

War Eagle Lodge #474 was chartered in 1952 in the Sergeant Floyd Council located in Sioux City, Iowa. In 1958, War Eagle Lodge rechartered after previously disbanding, changing the name from Ta Lodge. The War Eagle Lodge totem was a Bald Eagle.

Cha-Pa Lodge #97 was chartered in 1936 in the Southwest Iowa Council located in Council Bluffs, Iowa. The Cha-Pa Lodge totem was a Beaver.

Pohawk Lodge #445 was chartered in 1950 in the Covered Wagon Council located in Omaha, Nebraska. The Pohawk Lodge totem was Three Cedar Trees.

Lodge Chiefs & Advisors

Kit-Ke-Hak-O-Kut Lodge #97 was formed in 1965 with the merger of Covered Wagon and Southwest Iowa Councils. The Order of the Arrow Lodges of Southwest Iowa Council and Covered Wagon Council were Cha-Pa (#97) and Pohawk (#445). The members of those lodges became the charter members of Kit-Ke-Hak-O-Kut (#97).  >>Read More

Founder’s Award

The Founder’s Award is the highest honor a lodge can bestow on a member. It is given to those members who display the dedication of the Order of the Arrow founders, Dr. E. Urner Goodman and Col. Carroll Edson. The following inscription on the award medallion describes the spirit of the award: “For he who serves his fellows is, of all his fellows, greatest.”  >>Read More

Higher Vision Award

Annual award given by Lodge 97 to recognize a ‘lifetime’ of service.  >>Read More

James E West Fellowship

The James E. West Fellowship Award is a national recognition for individuals who contribute $1,000 or more in cash or securities to their local council endowment fund. This contribution is in addition to and does not diminish or replace the donor’s annual gift to the Council’s Friends of Scouting Campaign. Organizations or individuals may contribute an award in honor of someone. The award is presented with a certificate, a lapel pin, and a square knot to wear on the uniform. James E. West fellows names are added to the wall in the Durham Scout Center.  Those honored by the Order of the Arrow Lodge 97 are listed here.  >>Read More


Multiple scholarships awarded annually.

  • Lodge 97 awards 5 scholarships to active members.  Read More
  • Mark C. Rodgers was an Eagle Scout in Troop 474 and Vigil Honor member of the Boy Scouts of America Order of the Arrow.  A memorial fund set up in his memory offers a Cub Scout campership and an annual scholarship for a Boy Scout collage freshman.   Read More

Silver Arrow

Are you an active Arrowman of Lodge #97?  A Silver Arrow is awarded by the lodge to recognize your continued involvment in Lodge offerings; track your training, activities, and service on the handy form.  Read More

Spirit of the Ordeal

Given to youth member who best exemplifies the four tests of the Ordeal in his life.  >>Read More

The History of the Vigil Honor in our Lodge

According to some of our long-time Vigils and Lodge records, both the Cha-Pa Lodge (#97) of the Southwest Iowa Council and Pohawk Lodge (#445) of the Covered Wagon Council had inducted Vigil Honor members for a number of years prior to the official merger of the two Councils into Mid-America Council in 1965. To the best of our knowledge, 1952 was the first year Vigils were inducted by Cha-Pa Lodge (which was chartered in 1936), whereas Pohawk Lodge (which was chartered in 1950) first selected Vigils in 1956. This history only includes Kit-Ke-Hak-O-Kut; additional information from our predecessor lodges is welcome and will be added.  >>Read More

Chapter Arrowman of the Year

Award was created by the Kit-Ke-Hak-O-Kut Lodge #97 to recognize outstanding young Arrowman for each Chapter  >> Read More